UFCW Canada Local 248P Election of Officers

The following members are the eligible candidates who are confirmed as elected and/or acclaimed in the Local 248P election of officers:

President: Pat Horbay

Recorder: Carol Marissen

Vice-President #1: Barry Rawson

Vice-President #2: Peter Sperrer

Vice-President #3: Don Kripki

Vice-President #4: Graham Book

Vice-President #5: Kelvin Burton

Vice-President #6: Les Arno

The UFCW Constitution requires that a majority of votes cast shall be required for the election of the position of Secretary-Treasurer. The ballots were counted on January 26, 2018 and it was found that there was not a majority for the position of Secretary-Treasurer.

Therefore, a runoff election is required between the two nominees with the higher number of votes.

They are as follows:


Doug McKay

Lillian Perschke

These nominees must maintain continuous active membership in the local union as per the UFCW Constitution Article 35 (A).

The elections will take place as follows:


Wednesday, February 28, 2018 – 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. & 1:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.

The Northern Greens – 222 Evergreen Drive (7th St N)



Thursday, March 1, 2018 – 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Regina Union Centre – 2709 12th Avenue



Friday, March 2, 2018 – 5:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Union Office – 1638 Quebec Avenue - Saskatoon

Voting will be by secret ballot at the polling stations indicated above.  Please be prepared to show a piece of ID upon arrival in order to expedite the process.

Ballots will be counted on Friday, March 2, 2018 at 1638 Quebec Avenue commencing at 7:00 p.m. Candidates may have an observer present.  The candidate must provide the name of the individual acting in the capacity of observer to the Election Chair prior to the individual being allowed to observe.  The observer must be an active member of the local union.